Southampton Gardening Club

About Us

 Officially we are The Royal Southampton Horticultural Society but we prefer to use Southampton Gardening Club which we think is more friendly and informal.

All meetings are held at the Catholic Hall, Commercial Street, Bitterne SO18 6LY on the first Friday in the month.

New Members are always welcome at any of our meetings.
The annual subscription is just £12 with visitors charged £2 per evening but your first visit is free.

We like the speaker to start his or her presentation at 7.30 p.m. promptly so please arrive in good time.

At every meeting we have a raffle. The members' competition table is used at all meetings except show evenings and the Christmas party.

We are affiliated to the Royal Horticultural Society and also the Hampshire Federation of Horticultural Societies.

The club has links with Mayfield Nurseries  http://www.mayfieldnurseries.org.uk/  which is the place to go for plants, gardening sundries or advice.


For more information email info@rshs.org.uk  or telephone Andy 01489 784823

Programme for 2018

Friday January 5 Kevin Hobbs "Naturalistic planting with perennials, shrubs and grasses"

Friday February 2 John Combes “Hillier Garden”

Friday March 2 A.G.M.

Friday April 6 Spring Show

Friday May 4 Plant Sale

Friday June 1 Roger Hirons “Is your garden wildlife friendly?”

Friday July 6 Christine Bennett "The Lost Gardens of Heligan"

Friday August 3 Bryan Madders "Dahlias for pleasure"

Friday September 7 Summer Show

Friday October 5 Philip Jeffs “15 unusual plants (trees, shrubs, perennials) for the smaller garden”

Friday November 2 Chris Bird “House Plants”

Friday December 7 Thomas Stone “Hardy Geraniums”